top of page

Distance Learning as a Teacher and a Parent

S. Flores, Member of Educators United and an NU scholar

National University

May Blog Post



Teaching and parenting during virtual learning sure do come with their fair share of challenges. As an educator, you want to make sure that you are giving your focus and your attention to your students. As a parent, you want to make sure that your children prosper and continue to advance in their schooling. Any given day at any given time, you are constantly being pulled in every single direction. By 8:00 am, you may have a load or two of laundry going and already started accumulating dishes in the sink, reviewed your lessons for the day, and/or your children’s schoolwork. You may have also managed to make it through at least 20 of the 50 emails you received since the last time you logged in, and responded to at least five messages from students, parents, or colleagues. Being that my prior professions have instilled in me such a results-driven mindset, where I am continually checking and tracking to make sure that everyone is moving in the right direction, I want to see results and progress in my students and child as well.


During distance learning, not only am I teaching virtually, my child is learning virtually, and I too am learning virtually. Balancing these while maintaining a household is very cumbersome. It is for this reason I reflect on a Tony Robins Podcast episode where he speaks of integrating various components of your life and not trying to balance all the components of your life. In reality, when you are trying to balance everything, something is bound to come off-kilter and things can come crashing down. When you integrate components of your life, this is when you are better able to manage and delegate various responsibilities. It is easier to reach out for help when you combine various areas of your life rather than trying to balance. An example of integration includes delegating chores to your child. Creating checklists for your child to make sure tasks are completed throughout the day to alleviate stressors. During a Science lesson I am giving, I have my child sit on my lap and have them part of the conversation with the class. Having your child participate with you during PE is also another form of integration. This also allows my students and the families I serve to see that more human side of me. They also see that we are in this together and that we are all facing similar struggles.

Another factor that plays into being able to integrate life is ensuring that I am not too hard on myself and I let go of the little things because, at the end of the day, those little things do not matter.

It is important to give myself permission to relax and to breathe. Breathing is essential when blending so many elements. It is also important to be understanding of the situation that we are all in. We also need to be ok with reaching out for help. Not being afraid to let your significant other know you are overwhelmed and need a little extra support is key. We have a tendency to not allow ourselves to ask for help and we think that we can do it all. It does take a village and when we are working full time and raising children, and going to school, it is ok to ask for help and to turn to your village.

I have also found that it is important to put myself first by means of taking the time to exercise. Exercise is a very big reward that I give myself almost daily for at least 15-20 minutes. These 15-20 minutes help me breathe and focus on my priorities and intentions. When you remember to put yourself first, it helps to strengthen you and prepare you to be present for those who need you.


Sonya with her daughter, as she teaches virtually while her daughter learns online too.

15653173-1627015698684-717f327e1909.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Become a member of EU by clicking the image above!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page